Doom awaits non-performing TC chairmen in Imo

Non-performing transition committee Chairman of local government areas in Imo State have been penciled for sack as the state’s House of Assembly beams its searchlight on the 27 LGAs. Speaker of the House, Chief Ben Uwajumogu, disclosed plans to dispense with those performing poorly and reconfirm the performing ones at a session of the House recently. The committee of the whole House was considering the report of the House committee on Project Monitoring and Evaluation that visited the 27 local government areas to ascertain their utilization of N10million given to each of them by the State government. According to the report, the Chairman of Obowo, Ahiazu Mbaise, Ehime Mbano, Ezinihitte Mbaise, Ohaji/Egbema, Nkwerre and Oru East were listed as those that performed “very poorly”. However, the report listed the TC Chairmen of Ihitte Uboma, Barr. Uche Konkwo as having performed best, followed by his Owerri-West counterpart, Prince Arnod Nelson and Mr Uche Rajis of Njaba. Also considered as having performed well is that of Ideato North, Mr Henry Ike. Orsu, Owerri Municipal, Okigwe, Mbaitoli, Isiala Mbano, Oguta, Nwangele, Ngor-Okpala and Ikeduru were rated above average while Ideato South and Orlu were said to have performed poorly. Debating on the report, the House recommended that commendation letters be written to the performing chairman. Speaker Uwajumogu expressed displeasure at the abysmal performance of many of the TC Chairmen who were appointed by the Rochas Okorocha administration. Contributing, the member for Isiala Mbano, Barr. Simeon Iwunze called for a special audit of the 27 LGAs within two weeks. The member for Okigwe, Chief Iheanacho Ihim, wanted a special committee to cross check the reports while the member for Ikeduru, Hon Samuel Anyanwu suggested that only the poorly performing chairmen should be audited.

About the author

Christian Voice