Frontpage News

CATOL ends Transfiguration Week with awards

Some prominent politicians and their supporters last Sunday turned up at the Cathedral Church of the Transfiguration of Our Lord (CATOL), Owerri to receive awards to mark the finale of the 2014 Transfiguration Week of the Cathedral.

Other awardees were members of the CATOL congregation for their roles in the upliftment of the church.

In his sermon at the service, the Administrator and Vicar of CATOL, Ven. Akajiaku Chukwuocha, urged leaders at all levels to perform with integrity so that God would declare each, “this is my beloved son in whom I am well pleased” like was the case of Christ’s transfiguration.

He counseled leaders not to see themselves as demi-gods and to recognize that their leadership positions were given by God and that God is the true leader, so they should “listen to Jesus Christ.

The service was conducted by Rev. Kingsley Oparanozie while Professor Adaobi Obasi read the first lesson from Daniel 3:1-8 as the second from Mathew 17:1-8 was done by Sir Okey Ehieze.

The CATOL Choir led by Rev. Emma Okorafor thrilled the congregation with moving renditions.

Presenting the awards, the CATOL Administrator, Ven. Chukwuocha explained that the awardees were being honoured for their services to humanity and church as well as their contributions to the good governance of the state and community leadership.

The recipients in the latter category, mainly political office holders and aspirants include; the Deputy Governor of Imo State, Prince Eze Madumere, Imo State Commissioner for Local Government and Community Development, Prof. Lady Adaobi Obasi, Imo State Commissioner for Finance, Deacon Chike Okafor, the Deputy Speaker House of Representatives, Hon. Emeka Ihedioha, former Imo State Governor, Chief Ikedi Ohakim, KSC, and the speaker, Imo State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Benjamin Uwajumogu.

Other political heavyweights also honoured were Chief Ifeanyi Araraume, Captain Emma Ihenacho, Prof. Jude Njoku, Mr Kenneth Ojiri and Lady Clara Njoku, JP.

Eight members of CATOL congregation were honoured for their outstanding contribution towards the growth of the church.

They were, Mr. Victor O. Njoku, Mr Eric Onyedikachukwu Esiaga, Lady Josephine O. Asinobi and Miss Nkechi Aka.

Others were; Hon. Mrs Flora Ugochi Aka, Mrs Chinyere Kabiri, Chinwe Grace Onwuagba and Somtochukwu Mercy Onwuagba.

One of those present was political/economic guru and a prominent member of CATOL congregation, Engr. Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, KSC.



About the author

Christian Voice