2 Archdeacons, 8 Canons for Owerri Diocese

By Chukwudi Ikpe

Two new Archdeacons and eight new Canons will soon be inducted and collated for the Anglican Diocese of Owerri.
The new Archdeacons are Rev. Canon Rowland Maduka and Rev. Canon Chukwudu T. Onwuka. The new Canons include Rev. Davidson Ofurum, Rev. Basil Ubochiegbu, Rev. Benjamin Nwandikom, Rev. Benjamin Ugwuegbu and Rev. Obed Nosiri. Others are Rev. Rapheal Onuwa, Rev. Gideon Iheanacho and Rev. Christopher Ihejieto.
Their preferment was officially announced by the Bishop of Owerri, Rt. Rev. Chukwuma Oparah, during his speech at the commissioning and licensing of Lay Readers at the Cathedral Church of the Transfiguration of Our Lord (CATOL), Owerri, last Sunday.
Bishop Oparah also stated that the collation and induction of the new Canons and Archdeacons will take place on Palm Sunday, 14 April 2019, at CATOL, Owerrri.
The Bishop equally announced that Owerri Diocese has clocked 60 years this year, adding that this calls for celebration.
He said that a committee has been set up to organize a befitting Diamond Jubilee celebration for the Diocese.
Owerri Diocese, which is the mother Diocese of all the Dioceses in Owerri Ecclesiastical Province, was created on January 29, 1969 in the Province of West Africa.

About the author