Committee calls for judicial panel on Eastern Palm University

The seven-man committee that investigated the status of the tertiary institutions established by the immediate past administration in Imo State has called for a judicial panel on Eastern Palm University, Ogboko.
Speaking to newsmen in Owerri, the chairman of the committee, Prof. Jude Njoku, said that a preliminary investigation carried out by the committee showed that the institution belonged to Imo State.
According to him, a judicial panel on the university would unravel details of the source of its funding and more.
Prof. Njoku said that the committee had no powers as a judicial committee which could summon an individual for further information and failure to appear would have dire consequences.
He highlighted the recommendations of the committee, one of which was that the Eastern Palm University, which was recognized by the National Universities Commission (NUC) as the second state university in Imo State, should be made the campus of the Imo State University and could be housing the management and social sciences.
Other recommendations included that both the Imo State University of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Aboh/Okpala and the University of Science and Technology, Umuna should remain campuses of Imo State University, Owerri, housing agriculture and veterinary medicine and engineering faculties, respectively.
Same, Prof. Njoku said, should apply to the new polytechnics, such that Bishop Shanahan Polytechnic Orlu and Imo State Polytechnic, Ehime remain campuses of Imo State Polytechnics, Umuagwo, while Ahiara and Mbonu Ojike Polytechnics be converted to model technical schools.
The committee stated that the government may, in future, wish to upgrade the campuses to full universities, and polytechnics, adding that now, the resources do not seem to be available to carry their overhead costs as separate institutions.
They also recommended the sack of the new Vice Chancellors and rectors as well as other principal officers of the new institutions.
Prof. Njoku said that the committee, in the course of their investigations, visited the new institutions, and invited the officers appointed to run them.
However, the committee found out that universities had enabling laws, and the polytechnics had not, except the Bishop Shanahan Poly.
Among the new schools, also, were  the University of Medical Sciences, Ogboko, University of Creative Technology Omuma Isiaku, Nkwerre and the Maritime University, Osemoto, Oguta, which was pronounced but not recognized by NUC.

About the author